We are a membership organisation, part of the City of London’s livery movement. Our vision is to be the livery company leading the communication industry’s charitable endeavour. Our purpose is to contribute to society through charitable giving and to promote the communications profession to the Livery movement and the City of London.

Our mission is to:

  • Provide a platform for charitable giving and social action on behalf of the public relations profession in the UK through pro bono activities and donating a proportion of our Charitable Fund to worthy causes every year
  • Build an understanding and appreciation of the practice of public relations within the Livery, City of London and beyond
  • Create networking and fellowship opportunities for senior PR practitioners
  • Promote education and learning in the practice of public relations

Our values are:

  • Integrity – by each of us upholding the highest standards in the public relations profession
  • Trust – by being honest, transparent and authentic in what we do
  • Fellowship – by being welcoming, respectful and supportive of fellow members
  • Diversity – by encouraging a diverse membership operating across all communication practice areas

The Company has around 200 members and is managed by ‘The Court’. The Master is elected annually from the Wardens of the Court, each Master serves the Company from September to October for one year and will then often take the role of Deputy Master for one year. The Senior Warden, Middle Warden and Junior Warden are also elected annually from the Court Assistants. Applications for positions of Court Assistant are taken from the membership. The Court meets four times a year to discuss Company matters which includes fundraising activities, membership applications, events and other matters of the day. For the latest events and news from the Company please see our blog, albums of pictures from many of our events are on our flickr page.

PR is an essential activity in the City of London and the UK is a world leader in this profession.

Members of The Court


Gavin Ellwood, ACIPR, MPRCA

Deputy Master

Katherine Sykes, MCIPR, MPRCA

Senior Warden

Sarah Wait, MCIPR, MPRCA

Middle Warden

Edmund McMahon Turner

Junior Warden

Helen Moore

Treasurer & Renter Warden

Matthew West


Jane Hilliard


Marcus Walker, MA (Oxon) MSt

Court Assistants

Jonathan Chandler, MCIPR, MPRCA

Mark Glover,

James Gurling MCIPR, MPRCA

Dan Large, ChartPR, FCIPR

Justine McGuinness

Kevin Moore, MCIPR, Cert IoD

John Morgan

Col (Ret’d) Deborah Oliver, TD, FCIPR

Leigh Richards, FCIPR FRSA, MPRCA

Sally Sykes

Vickie Sheriff, MCIPR, MPRCA

Richard Walsh

Sean Curtis Ward


Sir Roger Gifford

Founding Alderman

David Graves

Sponsoring Alderman

Honorary Court Assistants

Dr Martin Dudley

Kelly Freeman MA Dip CAM PR

Virginia Rounding

Past Masters

  • 2017 – 2018 Katherine Sykes
  • 2015 – 2017 Francis Ingham
  • 2014 – 2015 Kevin Moore MCIPR
  • 2013 – 2014 Jonathan Chandler MCIPR
  • 2012 – 2013 Dr Martin Dudley FSA CC
  • 2011 – 2012 Brian Moore
  • 2010 – 2011 Sir Gavyn Farr Arthur MA DCL
  • 2009 – 2010 Kelly Freeman MA Dip CAM PR
  • 2008 – 2009 Una Riley MCIPR
  • 2007 – 2008 Philip Dewhurst FCIPR
  • 2006 – 2007 Carol Friend FCIPR
  • 2005 – 2006 Mike Granatt CB FCIPR FRSA
  • 2004 – 2005 John F Gray FCIPR
  • 2003 – 2004 Rosemary Brook FCIPR
  • 2002 – 2003 Rowland Whitehead Bt
  • 2001 – 2002 Stephen Jolly FCIPR
  • 2000 – 2001 Ric Gainsborough Foot CBE FCIPR